Local Election

The next scheduled election is the Local Government Election on Thursday 4 May 2017. 

A Parliamentary Election has also been called and all details relating to this and the rescheduled Cyfarthfa Local Election are available via this link.

Details for the Local Election on Thursday 4th May 2017:

Polling Stations are open between 7am and 10pm and each eligible elector will be sent a poll card telling them which polling station they are allocated to and how to cast their vote. If you cannot get to the polling station on the day of the election, you could apply for a postal vote or a proxy vote, but the deadlines are tight, so get your applications in as soon as possible.

The Count will take place at Merthyr Tydfil Leisure Centre straight after close of poll at 10pm on Thursday 4th May 2017.

Key dates:

Candidates for the election have now been confirmed:

Notice of Poll & Situation of Polling Stations:

Notice of Names and Offices of Election Agents:

Notice of Cancelled Election - Cyfarthfa Electoral Division This has been reschedule for Thursday 8th June 2017 at the same time as the Parliamentary Election.  For details relating to these elections, please access this link.

Result of Uncontested Election - Bedlinog Community Council

Residents who are not registered or require assistance can contact the Council's Elections Team on 01685 725202 or electoral@merthyr.gov.uk

For all press and media enquiries, please contact 01685 725166 or email corporate.communications@merthyr.gov.uk

a to z of services
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P q R S T U V W x Y z